Solved

Recurring jobs - dates not correct

• 15 October 2021
  • 5 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge

Hi all, I’m new to Karbon and have been using it for a few months now for job tracking - going well.  We are now about to venture into the next phase which is recurring jobs, particularly for Quarterly BAS and monthly IAS. So I have a job in the system for the September 2021 BAS for a client.  Job starts 1/10/2021 and finishes 29/10/2021 (being the end of the month on a weekday).  I go to create a recurring quarterly job using this job and selecting “quarterly” as the repeat settings.  Looking at the repeat preview the first BAS job is Jan to March 2022 (completely ignore December BAS) and the job dates are starting 31/12/2021 finishing 28/04/2022.  So the problem is the job can’t start 31/12/2021 as the month hasn’t even begun then - the job should start 01/04/2022 but I can’t for the life of me find a way of changing the start date on the recurring jobs?  I’m clearly missing someting - HELP!!! :) 

icon

Best answer by max 15 October 2021, 17:54

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +19

I’m glad to hear that, Andrew! Could you mark that answer as the best? It helps keep the community tidy and will help other people when they are searching for an answer to a similar problem.

Userlevel 2
Badge

@max all sorted! Thanks for this :relaxed:

Userlevel 7
Badge +19

I think I understand what’s going on and to fix it, we’re going to have to get creative.

The problem is that your work item is done in the month after the quarter (as most quarterly work items are), but when you choose the previous repeat period, the system isn’t understanding your offset and picking the wrong quarter.

How we can fix this is by building the offset ourselves using the start date placeholder and choosing “Work Start Date minus XX days”

The first placeholder looks like this:

Notice the “MMM” selection.

The second placeholder looks like this:

Notice the MMM YYYY selection.