Question

Bookkeeping - monthly Bank, Credit Cards with different statement dates

• 29 January 2024
  • 3 replies

I’m new to Karbon previously in my other software I had one monthly bookkeeping task for each month recurring yearly.

and in that would be broken down with statement dates for each additional account or credit card. I am having a hard time deciding on which way to set Karbon up.

keep all monthly bookkeeping in one task or setup separate credit card task with different start and end dates ei. Jan20-Feb 20 Capital One

Thanks

Jenn

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +15

Hi @Jennifer Thompson,

Good question 🙂

I would focus on two things:

1. Grouping Tasks / Task Sections together in Work items based on when you will do them. (e.g. if you do them every month around the same week, you would have a monthly repeating work item grouping the tasks you’d usually be completing that week).
  2. Creating enough Work items to easily track what “chunks” of work (Tasks / Sections) you need to complete and when, but not so many that they are overwhelming. (e.g. too few Work items and the Work item due dates become unusable, too many Work items and the Work views become unusable).

This thread may also be relevant:

Does that help?

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

@Jennifer Thompson I think another thing to take into account is how much you want to customize each work item.

For example -

• Your monthly bookkeeping template has one task that says “Reconcile all bank accounts and credit cards” (or maybe split between Bank and CC) and this is standard for all clients, no customization needed
    OR
  • Your template has placeholder tasks that say “Reconcile bank account XXXX” but for every new client you have to customize those tasks and then if you change your underlying template, you need to then go back and change all the existing work items. If the client added or removed an account you’d also have to change all open work items to add/remove the account from the checklist